Skip navigation

Noel Rodo-Vankeulen, from the series Nocturne, 2007-8


Gentle readers,

My apologies for the leaden dearth of activity on That’s a Negative; freelance life is in overdrive at the moment, and I haven’t had the opportunity to compose anything substantial for the blog. My “to post” backlog is enormous, with half-written reviews of great shows in Portland and Seattle, previews of exhibitions in both of those cities, thoughts on several new books, and other tokens of photo-miscellany. Normal posting should return by next week; in the meantime, a few quick thoughts:

If you’re in Seattle, Isaac Layman’s show at Lawrimore Project is a must-see. There are a few aspects of the work I still harbor reservations about, but rarely do I have an ongoing mental argument with a show for this length of time. It’s as smart and bold as any gallery show I’ve seen in Seattle, and Layman is clearly an artist who has given the nature of photography a lot of consideration.

Next Tuesday, August 12, artist TJ Norris and I are co-presenting a mini-slide jam at a Pecha Kucha event, to be held at the corner of NW 8th & Couch. I’ve never been to one of these, but participants show 20 slides at 20 seconds apiece, so at eight presenters, it should be a wham-bam, visual overload of a free event. (Other participants include the project manager of Maya Lin’s Confluence Project; bike advocate Meghan Sinnott; and a former curator of the Harvard Film Archive.) TJ and I curated a jpegshow (formerly slideshow) that zigzags from Klansmen to Trekkies to hot air balloons. Hopefully we’ll figure out how to tie it all together by next week. (Event is Tues, Aug 12, 34 NW 8th, 7:30 pm [starts at 8:20], sliding scale.)

Noel Rodo-Vankeulen’s Nocturne series strike me as the antithesis of every tedious trend currently being played out in contemporary photography. I’ll defend my position soon enough, wishing all the while that I was able to check out his prints on view next week at Brooklyn’s Bond Street Gallery.

Lastly, what’s happening San Francisco? If a particular photo enthusiast were passing through in a week or two, what would said stalwart be foolish in missing? I’m planning on catching Amy Stein at Robert Koch; Double Exposure at the Museum of the African Disapora; RongRong at SF Camerawork; Lee Miller at SFMOMA; and perhaps Edwin Hale Lincoln at the deYoung. Have I missed anything fantastic?

3 Comments

  1. Toy Camera Dreams at Lucky Ju Ju in Alameda through September 3rd. Photography and pinball = 2 great tastes that taste great together.
    http://www.joereifer.com/words/?p=499

  2. If you’re interested in the work that Isaac just produced you’ll probably be excited by what I assume is his reference: the amazing Fluxus artist Robert Watts.

    http://www.newyorkartworld.com/reviews/watts.html

    http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9E0DE2D91731F936A25755C0A9679C8B63

    http://www.ubu.com/film/watts.html

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/reader/1884919073/ref=sib_dp_pt#reader-link

    http://www.artpool.hu/Fluxus/Watts.html

    I’m sure you’ll find him fascinating.

    Your posts have been very interesting. I’m looking forward to more.
    -Melia

  3. I tried to find this image online but could only find this version. Sincerely not trying to self promote:


Leave a Reply

